A+ A A-

Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża

The beginnings of the Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża go back to the establishment in 1977 of the Łomża Chamber Orchestra. Since then the ensemble has given more than one thousand concerts in Poland and abroad and received numerous awards for its artistic achievements and its contribution to the development of musical culture. On 29 October 2008, it was renamed as the Chamber Philharmonic (its full name being the Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża).

The orchestra’s successive directors were Mieczysław Szymański, Henryk Szwedo and Tadeusz Chachaj. The last director was given the title of Honorary Principal Conductor by his successor, Jan Miłosz Zarzycki, who assumed the post of Managing and Artistic Director in 2004.
The orchestra has performed with prominent conductors: Tomasz Bugaj, Pierangelo Gelmini, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Marek Pijarowski, Peder Rensvik, Jerzy Salwarowski, Józef Wiłkomirski, and famous soloists, including Eugene Indjic, Krzysztof Jakowicz, Konstanty Andrzej Kulka, Wiesław Ochman and Piotr Paleczny.

Orchestra has taken part in numerous prestigious festivals such as the Kristiansund Kirke Kunst Kulturfestival (Norway), Klaipeda Music Spring (Lithuania), ‘Užutrakio Vakarai’ Festival in Troki (Lithuania), the ‘Songs from the River Salcia’ Festival in Solechniki (Lithuania), International Organ and Chamber Music Festival in Giżycko, the Moniuszko Festival of the Podlasie Region and the Operetta and Opera Festival in Mazovia. The ensemble also performed at the 1st Warsaw Tournament of Tenors, the National Philharmonic in Warsaw and the Royal Concerts at the Royal Castle in Wilanów. It has also done a lot to consolidate Polish cultural traditions giving regular concerts in Lithuania and Belarus (Grodno). Foreign tours also took it to France (2009) and Norway (2012).

The orchestra’s discography includes ten CDs, five of which won a nomination for the Fryderyk Award of the Polish Recording Industry.

Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża is the organizer of the International Chamber Music Festival ‘Sacrum et Musica’ which was founded in 2005.

Musicians of the Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża

First Violins
Gustaw Ciężarek - 1st Concertmaster
Cezary Gójski - 2nd Concertmaster
Jan Zugaj
Katarzyna Karpiuk
Agnieszka Sobolewska - cooperation
Piotr Sawicki - cooperation

Second Violins
Mariola Zalewska
Katarzyna Janas-Dziewa
Marta Kaczan
Anna Bianka Balasiewicz
Katarzyna Prusiel - cooperation
Filip Szymaniak - cooperation
Anna Barańska
Przemysław Ćwiek - cooperation
Magdalena Balcer - cooperation
Ewa Barczyk
Edyta Moskwa
Ewa Jankowska - cooperation
Double Basses
Bogdan Szczepański
Mateusz Bakun - cooperation
Jacek Krupa

Magdalena Goc
Magdalena Pogorzelska - cooperation

Henryk Marszałek
Wiesław Wasik - cooperation

Zofia Kamińska - cooperation

French Horn
Mateusz Goc - cooperation

Kamil Borusiewicz - cooperation
Tomasz Marczak - cooperation

Jan Boćniewicz - cooperation

Jacek Jasłowski - cooperation

Tatiana Baranovskaya - cooperation
Orchrstra Inspector
Jan Boćniewicz

Mateusz Goc

Witold Lutosławski
Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża
Nowa 2 Steet
18-400 Łomża

Institution financed
from the budget
of the City of Łomża

Filharmonia Kameralna im. Witolda Lutosławskiego w Łomży


Sign In

User Registration
or Cancel